Coloring

Hobbies? Other than playing violin, playing piano, and spending wayyyy too long watching YouTube videos, I do not really have any other hobbies; however I love coloring. Coloring? You might be wondering why a sixteen year old junior loves coloring and colors during her free time. Well, all in all, I think of coloring as a stress reliever from the jam packed days in my life. There are probably 56418976543187 different ways to color a picture and the exciting thing  is that there are no wrong ways in approaching a picture (except if you color out the lines…please don’t).

Ever since I was able to hold a writing/coloring utensil, I immediately fell in love with coloring and the rest is history. After I got my first coloring book, every day I would color non stop until my hand started hurting. Back in the olden days, coloring was a way to pass time.

As a child, I would color similar pictures to this elephant.

Image result for baby coloring pages elephant cuteBut as I grew older, I started transitioning to coloring things like this.Image result for complicated coloring pages

Whenever I finish a challenging coloring page with thousands of different sections, a feeling of satisfaction and accomplishment. Whether the picture is big or small, coloring helps me get through the tough and stressful times and calms me down. Coloring allows my mind to settle down and be carefree, leading to a more calm state of mind. Coloring not only helps me relieve stress, but it also opens my eyes to different color combinations and allows me to think creatively.

As a child, for Christmas, birthdays, or other occasions, my go to answer for a gift was a coloring book and coloring supplies like the ultimate crayola sets. As my free time diminished throughout the years, so has my time spent coloring; however the effect of coloring greatly helps me through the stressful time of high school.
Altogether, coloring as a hobby help developed my “artistic skills” and nowadays makes me feel like a child again. Coloring books aren’t just for kids.

Image result for colored coloring page adult

5 comments

  1. shestolethestars · December 9, 2016

    Hi Melissaaaaaaa!! We don’t talk anymore (lol I just sang that as I wrote it). Anyway, I miss seeing you and stuffff. But Blog post related, I think totally agree with coloring. It’s terrific and plus, who couldn’t use a little stress reliever thanks to school? Although I’m pretty sure you’re better at it than me (mostly because it can only hold my interest for so long) I used to collect all the colored pencils, crayons and markers I could get my hands on, too. I mean I still have three school pouches full of assorted colored pens and all. Who said growing up was ever any fun?

    P.S. I now know what I’m getting you for Christmas! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Red For Passion – She Stole The Stars
  3. theungergamesblog · December 11, 2016

    I’ve wanted to start colouring for so long! I’ve heard so many people (now including you) who talk about how great of a stress reliever it is, I’ve just never got around to actually getting myself one of the books. It’s nice having a hobby that you de-stress with and that allows you to be creative and artistic but still have fun.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Blog Post Comments 2.0 – The Unger Games
  5. doriankdot · December 13, 2016

    Its cool that you enjoy coloring, I like to draw so I guess I can kind of relate to this? its just interesting how people can take something that someone else made and make it unique because of how they color it. I dont know if i could do it myself, but i can see how it would be fun!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment